Min side Kundeservice Gavekort – en perfekt gave Registrer deg

Dinosaur Lady

The Daring Discoveries of Mary Anning, the First Paleontologist

«[The] illustrated timeline that references scenes in the text is an effective recap. Fossil facts and an author's note are also included." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books»

A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures
Mary Anning loved scouring the beach near her home in England for shells and fossils. Les mer

203,-
Innbundet
Sendes innen 7 virkedager
A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures
Mary Anning loved scouring the beach near her home in England for shells and fossils. She fearlessly climbed over crumbling cliffs and rocky peaks, searching for new specimens. One day, something caught Mary's eye.
Bones. Dinosaur Bones.
Mary's discoveries rocked the world of science and helped create a brand-new field of study: paleontology. But many people believed women couldn't be scientists, so Mary wasn't given the credit she deserved. Nevertheless, Mary kept looking and learning more, making discoveries that reshaped scientific beliefs about the natural world.
Educational backmatter includes a timeline of Mary Anning's life and lots of fantastic fossil facts!
The perfect choice for parents and teachers looking for:Dinosaur books for kids 5-7 and kids books about fossilsFeminist picture books about historical women, and daring books for girlsKids STEM books

Detaljer

Forlag
Sourcebooks Explore
Innbinding
Innbundet
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
40
ISBN
9781728209517
Utgivelsesår
2020
Format
26 x 16 cm

Om forfatteren

Marta Alvarez Miguens is a self-taught children's illustrator. She was born in a small town in Galicia, Spain, and currently lives in La Coruna, Spain. She is the illustrator of Shark Lady (written by Jess Keating), which was named a 2018 Best STEM Book by the Children's Book Council as well as a Best STEM Book by the National Science Teachers Association.

Linda Skeers is the author of several critically acclaimed children's books. She also teaches picture book writing workshops, including sessions on writing humor for kids. She lives in Iowa. Visit her at www.lindaskeers.com.

Anmeldelser

«[The] illustrated timeline that references scenes in the text is an effective recap. Fossil facts and an author's note are also included." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books»

«Sure to elicit excitement and curiosity. A sturdy portrayal of Victorian scientist Mary Anning that showcases her accomplishments, intelligence, and perseverance. " - Kirkus Reviews»

«A 2020 A Mighty Girl Best Book of the Year" - A Mighty Girl»

«This enjoyable introduction to a pioneering paleontologist should intrigue and inspire young readers." - School Library Journal»

«Perfect in every way, this appealing biography recounts Mary Anning's beach discoveries of the first dinosaur bones ... Pretty illustrations and fantastic writing with impressive sentence variety." - Melissa Taylor, Imagination Soup»

«[A] delightful illustrated biography ... Uncover fossils and never-before-seen skeletons with Mary as she ventures through rough terrain, weather, and the Geological Society's antiquated notions of gender equality, all while looking lovely in Austen era gowns and bonnets." - Foreword»

«Both the large, clear text and the simple yet effective double-page illustrations make this title perfect for even the youngest scientists, adventurers, and dinosaur-lovers" - School Library Connection»

«This appealing picture book celebrates Anning's significant contributions to paleontology." - Booklist»

Kunders vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Dinosaur Lady:

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv