Min side Kundeservice Gavekort – en perfekt gave Registrer deg

Memphis

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2023

«A real celebration of Black women living in Memphis - deals with complex issues of race, class, love and loss in a beautiful way»

Helen, Waterstones Events
145,-
Paperback
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Detaljer

Forlag
John Murray Publishers Ltd
Innbinding
Paperback
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
272
ISBN
9781529339253
Utgivelsesår
2023
Format
20 x 13 cm

Anmeldelser

«A real celebration of Black women living in Memphis - deals with complex issues of race, class, love and loss in a beautiful way»

Helen, Waterstones Events

«I loved these larger than life, exuberant female characters»

Clare, Farnham Waterstones bookseller

«This book had me gripped from the start - incredibly moving!»

Emily, Newport Waterstones bookseller

«A superb book by an author who knows how to write brilliant characters»

Ben, Chichester Waterstones bookseller

«If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our own story, it is this stunning debut . . . this beautifully written, inspiring story is full of hope and memorable characters»

Books of the Year, Woman and Home

«Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut»

Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

«In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience»

Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

«An evocative, compelling tale . . . Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honorée Jeffers»

Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

«Memphis is at once a sprawling generational epic and an intimate character study . . . There is sorrow in these pages, but there is also joy and wit and warmth . . . incredibly satisfying [and] deeply affecting »

Roxane Gay

«A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm»

Irenosen Okojie

«Black American literature at its finest . . . a symphony of stories»

Irish Independent

«A rhapsodic hymn to Black women»

The New York Times Book Review

«Ferocious and compassionate . . . Stringfellow deftly weaves the voices of four vivid, formidable and funny women over three generations . . . Memphis reaches back to literary mothers and towards potential daughters, honouring the strength, creativity and resilience of Black women»

Irish Times

«I fell in love with this book by the end of the second paragraph. This story truly touched my soul. A talented new author who is definitely one to watch»

Prima, Book of the Month

«Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, this debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood - ideal for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American Marriage»

Cosmo

«An accomplished debut»

Good Housekeeping

«Engrossing . . . beautifully written prose, unforgettable characters, messages of sisterhood and community . . . The author shows tremendous insight into the effects of violence on Black women in America, told from a captivating Southern female perspective »

Best Books of 2022, NPR

«Richly impressionistic . . . Stringfellow demonstrates he erratic movements of history, the false starts and reversals and, yes, the moments of progress that are reflected in the haphazard march toward realizing King's vision for America»

Washington Post

«This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer»

Booklist

«This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of trauma»

Oprah Daily Most Anticipated

«This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude»

Adele Parks, Platinum Magazine

«An incredible read»

Bella

«Stunning . . . a spectacular debut rich with Southern charm . . . a celebration of sisterhood and life»

Voice Magazine

«I love this book. I couldn't put it down. You will fall in love with these women who gather strength from one another's care amidst a world of heartbreak, racism, and violence. Filled with Fifties music, this book went straight to my heart»

Al Woodworth, Amazon Editor, Amazon Best Books of April 2002

«This book was stunning. The characters were vivid and alive, and the weaving between tales was thematic and effortless»

Avalon, Aberystwyth Waterstones bookseller

Kunders vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Memphis:

Se flere

De som kjøpte denne kjøpte også:

Oslo

Espen Hauglid
Innbundet 
363,- 399,-
 

Sigd

Ruth Lillegraven
Paperback 
199,-
 

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv