This Accursed Land - Lennard Bickel

This Accursed Land

An epic solo journey across Antarctica

Sir Edmund Hillary described Douglas Mawson's epic and punishing journey across 600 miles of unknown Antarctic wasteland as 'the greatest story of lone survival in polar exploration'.

This Accursed Land tells that story; how Mawson declined to join Captain Robert Scott's ill-fated British expedition and instead lead a three-man husky team to explore the far eastern coastline of the Antarctic continent. Les mer
Vår pris
171,-

(Paperback)
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Paperback
Legg i

Er du interessert i historiebøker ?
Bli med i fordelsklubben Vår historie og få fordelspris kr 145,-

Paperback
Legg i
Vår pris: 171,-

(Paperback)
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Er du interessert i historiebøker ?
Bli med i fordelsklubben Vår historie og få fordelspris kr 145,-

Sir Edmund Hillary described Douglas Mawson's epic and punishing journey across 600 miles of unknown Antarctic wasteland as 'the greatest story of lone survival in polar exploration'.

This Accursed Land tells that story; how Mawson declined to join Captain Robert Scott's ill-fated British expedition and instead lead a three-man husky team to explore the far eastern coastline of the Antarctic continent.

But the loss of one member and most of the supplies soon turned the hazardous trek into a nightmare. Mawson was trapped 320 miles from base with barely nine days' food and nothing for the dogs.

Eating poisoned meat, watching his body fall apart, crawling over chasms and crevices of deadly ice, his ultimate and lone struggle for survival, starving, poisoned, exhausted and indescribably cold, is an unforgettable story of human endurance.

Grippingly told by Lennard Bickel, this is the most extraordinary journey from the brutal golden age of Antarctic exploration. Perfect for fans of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air or Michael Palin's Erebus.
Lennard Bickel was a former science correspondent for the Australian Broadcasting Commission and the Australian newspaper. He published books including Facing Starvation and Shackleton's Forgotten Men.