Edge of the Grave - Robbie Morrison

Edge of the Grave

Edge of the Grave is the first novel in a historical crime series set against the backdrop of 1930s Glasgow. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr. Les mer
Vår pris
233,-

(Innbundet)
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Innbundet
Legg i
Innbundet
Legg i
Vår pris: 233,-

(Innbundet)
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Edge of the Grave is the first novel in a historical crime series set against the backdrop of 1930s Glasgow. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.
FAKTA
Utgitt:
Forlag: Macmillan
Innbinding: Innbundet
Språk: Engelsk
Sider: 416
ISBN: 9781529054019
Format: 24 x 16 cm
KATEGORIER:

Bla i alle kategorier

VURDERING
Gi vurdering
Les vurderinger

«Fantastic historical crime thriller set in 1930s Glasgow with a great detective duo and loads of brilliant period detail — poverty, wealth, gangs, religion and so much more»

«Powerful and moving . . . Morrison's portrait of Glasgow and its denizens – both the vicious and the virtuous – is superb»

Literary Review

«A highly evocative novel with a strong sense of place and Morrison brings to dark life this time period in an engaging and mesmerizing way. As Morrison grows with each novel, he will indeed be a force to be reckoned with»

Crimesquad.com

«An historical tour de force along with a brilliant plot»

Globe and Mail

«Robbie Morrison serves up a delicious slice of 30s gangster noir set in the grim and greasy, sodden and savage streets of Glasgow when it was the Empire's Second City. Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read»

«

I’ve been waiting years to read a truly gripping historical crime novel set in Glasgow. That wait is over. Edge of the Grave is astounding. Tense, absorbing and dripping with gallus Glasgow humour, this book is absolutely wonderful

»

«A mesmerizing debut – raw, brutally violent but immensely human. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off»

«Wonderfully gritty, violent and nasty in all the right ways»

«A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it. I can’t wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid. Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut»

«A Glaswegian version of Peaky Blinders, with razor gangs brawling in the street and festering family secrets . . . it's a dark and powerful story»

Sunday Times

«A hugely impressive debut»

Evening Standard

«The atmosphere Morrison conjures is so captivating it's hard to believe this is his debut crime novel . . . You should grab Edge of the Grave at the soonest opportunity. This is without doubt the most evocative and engaging Scottish crime novel we've come across in a very long time»

«Brilliant»

The Times

«Meticulously researched and dripping with violence, written with brutal panache»

«Sharp and lethal as a cut-throat razor. Deeply researched, with strong characterisation and a fluent narrative, Robbie Morrison’s first novel is a book to savour»

«1930s Glasgow portrayed in all its ragged glory»

«Robbie Morrison really is a breath of fresh creative air in crime fiction. Edge of the Grave is a stunning debut: razor sharp prose and a superbly crafted sense of place and time. A great Glaswegian page-turner: I could smell the smog and feel the grit throughout»

«This deftly plotted novel is a more than worthy successor to William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw novels: the title is a homage to them. I am very glad that this book is the first in a projected series»

Historical Novel Society

«The dark heart of 1930s gangland Glasgow is brought back to vivid, violent life in Robbie Morrison's brilliant first novel. Fast moving and evocative, the prose cuts like a razor, straight through to the heart»

Robbie Morrison was born in Helensburgh, Scotland, and grew up in the Renton, Coatbridge, Linwood and Houston. On both sides, his family connection to shipbuilding in Glasgow and the surrounding areas stretches back four generations and is a source of inspiration for the Jimmy Dreghorn series. He sold his first script to publishers DC Thomson in Dundee at the age of twenty-three. One of the most respected writers in the UK comics industry, Edge Of The Grave is his first novel.