Min side Kundeservice Gavekort – en perfekt gave Registrer deg

Song of the Huntress

A captivating folkloric fantasy of treachery, loyalty and lost love

«[A] captivating fable of politics, religion, treachery, betrayal, longing, and commitment . . . The intersection between magic, love, and peaceful coexistence will appeal to readers who enjoy historical fantasy»

<i>Booklist</i>

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SISTERSONG

'Magic, myth, political intrigue, and a fierce and unique love story . . . I devoured it' – Cassandra Clare, author of Sword Catcher

A must-read for fans of Circe, Song of the Huntress recasts the folklore behind the Wild Hunt into a dark, feminist fantasy set amidst the legends and beauty of ancient Britain.

Britain, 60 AD. Hoping to save her lover and her land from the Romans, Herla makes a desperate pact with the Otherworld King. She becomes Lord of the Hunt and for centuries she rides, reaping wanderers’ souls. Until the night she meets a woman on a bloody battlefield – a Saxon queen with ice-blue eyes.

Queen Æthelburg of Wessex is a proven fighter, but after a battlefield defeat she finds her husband’s court turning against her. Yet King Ine needs Æthel more than ever: the dead kings of Wessex are waking, and Ine must master his bloodline’s ancient magic if they are to survive.

When their paths cross, Herla knows it’s no coincidence. Something dark and dangerous is at work in the Wessex court. As she and Æthel grow closer, Herla must find her humanity – and a way to break the curse – before it’s too late.

'Striking, bold and beautifully written’ – Angela Slatter, author of The Briar Book of the Dead

Les mer

247,-
Innbundet
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SISTERSONG

'Magic, myth, political intrigue, and a fierce and unique love story . . . I devoured it'
– Cassandra Clare, author of Sword Catcher

A must-read for fans of Circe, Song of the Huntress recasts the folklore behind the Wild Hunt into a dark, feminist fantasy set amidst the legends and beauty of ancient Britain.

Britain, 60 AD. Hoping to save her lover and her land from the Romans, Herla makes a desperate pact with the Otherworld King. She becomes Lord of the Hunt and for centuries she rides, reaping wanderers’ souls. Until the night she meets a woman on a bloody battlefield – a Saxon queen with ice-blue eyes.

Queen Æthelburg of Wessex is a proven fighter, but after a battlefield defeat she finds her husband’s court turning against her. Yet King Ine needs Æthel more than ever: the dead kings of Wessex are waking, and Ine must master his bloodline’s ancient magic if they are to survive.

When their paths cross, Herla knows it’s no coincidence. Something dark and dangerous is at work in the Wessex court. As she and Æthel grow closer, Herla must find her humanity – and a way to break the curse – before it’s too late.

'Striking, bold and beautifully written’ – Angela Slatter, author of The Briar Book of the Dead

Detaljer

Forlag
Macmillan
Innbinding
Innbundet
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
432
ISBN
9781529077407
Utgivelsesår
2024
Format
24 x 16 cm

Om forfatteren

Lucy Holland is a former Waterstones bookseller and has a BA in English and Creative Writing from Royal Holloway. She went on to complete an MA in Creative Writing under Andrew Motion in 2010. Lucy lives in Devon and co-hosts Breaking the Glass Slipper, an award-winning feminist podcast. She is the author of Sistersong.

Anmeldelser

«[A] captivating fable of politics, religion, treachery, betrayal, longing, and commitment . . . The intersection between magic, love, and peaceful coexistence will appeal to readers who enjoy historical fantasy»

<i>Booklist</i>

«Deeply beguiling, vibrant and lyrical, Song of the Huntress is an age-old tale given startling new life. Lucy Holland deftly weaves folklore and history, worlds and other-worlds, to create a sweeping story of love, longing and magic. Utterly captivating, gripping and epic, this beautiful story stole my heart»

Miranda Dickinson, bestselling author of <i>The Day We Meet Again</i>

«A beautiful reimagining of an old British folklore ballad, Sistersong weaves a captivating spell of myth and magic around the reader. Lucy Holland's lyrical prose and powerful storytelling will lure you into an eerie, intriguing world in which enemies lurk unseen, the threat of betrayal hangs heavy and sisterly loyalties are tested to their limit»

Jennifer Saint, author of <i>Ariadne</i>, on <i>Sistersong</i>

«Sistersong is a fresh and gripping retelling of an ancient tale. Set in a realistic, gritty world, the nuanced, compelling characters are the heart of this story about family, love, loyalty and identity. I loved it»

John Gwynne, author of <i>Malice</i>, on <i>Sistersong</i>

«Rooted in history but shot through with surprises, this takes ancient British myth and gives it a wonderfully fresh twist. The book combines timely themes around our lost connection with nature, the fluidity of identity and the power of claiming your own story with a haunting atmosphere and a rollicking pace. Lucy Holland is a brilliantly assured storyteller»

Molly Flatt on <i>Sistersong</i>

«Original and wrenching, this take on the Wild Hunt is as dark, and wild and beautiful as love itself. Lucy Holland’s skill is even sharper than it was in Sistersong—It won't be long before you fall in love with Aethel, Herla, and Ine, just like I did»

C.L. Clarke, author of <i>The Unbroken</i>

«Holland dives into the myth of the Wild Hunt in this powerful and evocative historical fantasy . . . Lyrical and captivating, with an ending that will leave readers devastated, the narrative hits just the right balance of action, romance, and character development. In Holland’s skilled hands, this stands out from the crowded field of legends retold»

<i>Publishers Weekly</i>, Starred Review

«In Song of the Huntress, Lucy Holland deftly weaves together magic, myth, political intrigue, and a fierce and unique love story — no small feat! I devoured it over the course of several late nights and enjoyed every moment»

Cassandra Clare, <i>Sunday Times</i> bestselling author of <i>Sword Catcher</i>

«Holland’s debut, Sistersong, gave us a beguiling blend of Dark Ages history, strong heroines and magic. She’s gone and done it again, but even better. Two women warriors — one a cursed British immortal, the other a Saxon queen — must find common ground to fight a growing evil. Captivating»

<i>Daily Mail</i>

«Striking, bold and beautifully written Song of the Huntress is a feast for readers. Holland is a powerful writer and this, a propulsive tale, a brilliantly woven tapestry of folklore, fantasy and history. Epic and wild»

Angela Slatter, award-winning author of <i>The Briar Book of the Dead</i>

«Richly imagined and meticulously researched, Song of the Huntress makes history vibrant»

Hannah Whitten, NYT bestselling author of <i>For the Wolf</i>

Kunders vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Song of the Huntress:

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv