Pertussis Infection and Vaccines

Advances in Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Public Health Volume 12

Giorgio Fedele (Redaktør) ; Clara Maria Ausiello (Redaktør)

Serie: Advances in Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Public Health 1183

This book provides a comprehensive overview of pertussis - also known as whooping cough. The first part discusses the evolution the genus Bordetellae and the molecular epidemiology of B. pertussis, while the following chapters focus on the role of B. Les mer
Vår pris
2194,-

(Innbundet) Fri frakt!
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 21 dager
På grunn av Brexit-tilpasninger og tiltak for å begrense covid-19 kan det dessverre oppstå forsinket levering.

Innbundet
Legg i
Innbundet
Legg i
Vår pris: 2194,-

(Innbundet) Fri frakt!
Leveringstid: Sendes innen 21 dager
På grunn av Brexit-tilpasninger og tiltak for å begrense covid-19 kan det dessverre oppstå forsinket levering.

Om boka

This book provides a comprehensive overview of pertussis - also known as whooping cough. The first part discusses the evolution the genus Bordetellae and the molecular epidemiology of B. pertussis, while the following chapters focus on the role of B. pertussis virulence factors in infection and disease and on the mechanisms of the immune response to infection and vaccination. The book also explores the prevention and control of the disease as well as its clinical management, with the finally section addressing vaccination, from improved immunization strategies to novel vaccines.

Pertussis remains one of the most poorly controlled vaccine-preventable diseases around the globe. Universal vaccination has dramatically reduced its incidence but has failed to bring it completely under control. In recent decades, changes in pertussis epidemiology have been noted, likely related to the use of acellular pertussis vaccines, which in many countries have replaced older-generation, whole-cell pertussis vaccines. Several years after their introduction, it is becoming apparent that immunity conferred by acellular vaccines wanes more rapidly than expected. Unlike whole-cell vaccines, acellular vaccines, while protecting against the disease, do not seem to prevent colonization and transmission. Increasing incidence among adolescents and adults makes them a reservoir for transmission to unimmunized infants, who in turn are at risk of severe disease and death.



This book is a valuable resource for researchers and clinicians in the field of medical microbiology, vaccine research and infectious diseases.

Fakta

Innholdsfortegnelse

1. Evolution of the genus BordetellaeCorresponding author: Andrew Preston Email : A.Preston@bath.ac.uk
2. Molecular epidemiology of B. pertussis Corresponding author: Qiushui He Email : qiuhe@utu.fi 3. Role of major virulence factors in pertussis infection and disease pathogenesis Corresponding author: Nick Carbonetti Email : ncarbonetti@som.umaryland.edu
4. Functional programming of innate immune cells in response to B. pertussis infection and vaccination Corresponding author: Dimitri Diavatopoulos Email : Dimitri.Diavatopoulos@radboudumc.nl
5. Superior imprinting of B. pertussis specific CD4+ T cell immunity by natural infectionCorresponding author: Cecile ACM van Els Email : cecile.van.els@rivm.nl
6. Human immune responses to pertussis vaccinesCorresponding author: Giorgio Fedele Email : giorgio.fedele@iss.it
7. Pertussis: diagnosis, prevention and control Corresponding author: Paola Stefanelli Email : paola.stefanelli@iss.it
8. Pertussis on low- and middle-income countries (LMIC): a pragmatic approach Corresponding author: Nicole Guiso Email : nicole.guiso@pasteur.fr
9. Clinical findings and management of pertussis Corresponding author: Susanna Esposito Email : susanna.esposito@unipg.it
10. Need for improved immunization strategies. Corresponding author: Antonio Cassone Email : antonio.cassone2@gmail.com
11. New pertussis vaccines: a need and a challenge. Corresponding author: Daniela Hozbor Email : hozbor.daniela@gmail.com

Om forfatteren

Dr. Giorgio Fedele



Istituto Superiore di Sanita



Roma, Italy



Email : giorgio.fedele@iss.it







Dr. Clara Maria Ausiello



Roma, Italy



Email : clara.ausiello@gmail.com