Min side Kundeservice Gavekort – en perfekt gave Registrer deg

Heroines

The instant Sunday Times bestseller

«I was gripped throughout. A relevant and original retelling, giving voice and agency to women whose stories have been a subplot in myth or have remained unheard for so long. A fiercely compelling novel»

CAROLINE LEA, author of THE GLASS WOMAN
145,-
Sendes innen 7 virkedager

Detaljer

Forlag
Sphere
Innbinding
Paperback
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
352
ISBN
9781408725443
Utgivelsesår
2024
Format
20 x 13 cm

Om forfatteren

Laura Shepperson was born in the UK and has always been fascinated by myths and myth retellings, studying Classical Studies at the University of Auckland. Her first novel, The Heroines, was a Sunday Times bestseller. In 2017 she was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Prize for Fiction. Laura holds a Master of Studies in Creative Writing from the University of Cambridge. Laura lives outside London with her husband and two children.

She can be found on Twitter and Instagram @LauraShepperson.

Anmeldelser

«I was gripped throughout. A relevant and original retelling, giving voice and agency to women whose stories have been a subplot in myth or have remained unheard for so long. A fiercely compelling novel»

CAROLINE LEA, author of THE GLASS WOMAN

«Shepperson shines in her debut . . . This inspired feminist retelling will captivate readers»

Publisher's Weekly

«A pointed examination of the plight of women in ancient Greece, this powerful and compulsively readable tale should appeal to fans of Jennifer Saint's Ariadne and Madeline Miller's Circe»

Booklist Starred Review

«This tale was always going to be a tragedy, but telling it almost entirely from the women's points of view makes it both more modern and more eternal, the system of men protecting men never changing. A breath of fresh air from an ancient tale

Kirkus

«An edgy, accessible feminist reworking of the tricky story of Phaedra »

Australian Woman's Weekly

«A creative and absorbing take»

Heat, Book of the Week

«The Heroines is beautifully told, and utterly gripping - a must for any fans of Greek myth retellings. I was immediately enthralled by the variety of voices and viewpoints telling the story, and each character was so well drawn and distinctive. The tension builds to an explosive, heart rending finale, and I couldn't put the book down. Shepperson draws from the original myths, and compellingly asks us to consider how our understanding is influenced by who is telling the story - and why

CAILEAN STEED, author of HOME

«A timely and labyrinthian retelling of the trial of Phaedra: breaking down the old walls and illuminating the true monsters»

CARI THOMAS, author of THREADNEEDLE

«An intelligent, highly crafted and necessary book »

CLAIRE NORTH, author of ITAHCA

«An audacious and spirited refiguring of Greek myth in which human rather than divine action is the driving force»

SARAH BURTON, author of THE STRANGE ADVENTURES OF H

«Thrilling, menacing, heartbreaking. An ancient story for modern times. So gripping the pages almost turn themselves!»

EMMA CARROLL, author of LETTERS FROM THE LIGHTHOUSE

«Urgent, resonant and timely»

WOMAN'S OWN

«A feminist retelling that subverts the most enduring myth of them all - that women are to blame for the violence exacted upon them and are the cause of their own suffering. Laura Shepperson does not flinch in her reimagining of Phaedra's story. Wholly original, The Heroines eschews romance, and does not seek to mollify the male reader. Instead, the author holds steadfast in her unpicking of the age-old misogynistic narrative that women are weak, conniving and duplicitous. Chapter after chapter she posits: This is how it is, can you deny it? A welcome reimagining that left me all at once satisfied and furious»

JOANNE BURN, author of THE HEMLOCK CURE

«A compelling and skilfully woven story, The Heroines challenges the silencing of female voices with an urgent and furious reimagining of a number of unlikely Classical tales.»

ROSIE ANDREWS, author of THE LEVIATHAN

«A stunning debut . . . vibrant characters, dark twists, a shimmering brilliant read. »

CARLY REAGON, author of THE TOLL HOUSE

«If you love Greek mythology, you'll love The Heroines»

COSMOPOLITAN

«Compelling and immersive storytelling. A sparkling debut»

JULIE OWEN MOYLAN, author of THAT GREEN EYED GIRL

«The Heroines is a vivid retelling of Phaedra's story that gives voice to the women involved, and feels starkly relevant to the world we live in today. A mesmerising read»

ELIZABETH LEE, author of CUNNING WOMEN

«The Heroines is a powerful reimagining of Greek tragedy, skilfully interweaving the voices of women to haunting effect, creating echoes that resonate in modern society. A deft and clever retelling full of intrigue, rage and pathos»

JENNIFER SAINT, author of ARIADNE

«Shepperson's love of classics is plain to see in this retelling... The Heroines is a strong, learned addition to the growing canon of contemporary reimaginings of ancient myths»

CAMBRIDGE EDITION

«The Heroines is a stunner of a debut. Shepperson holds her own in the Greek myth re-telling genre, weaving an epic tale centred around Phaedra. I couldn't put it down. »

AMITA PARIKH, author of THE CIRCUS TRAIN

Kunders vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Heroines:

Hera
Ny!

Hera

Jennifer Saint
Innbundet 
290,-
 

Jason

Mark Knowles
Paperback 
145,-
 

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv