Min side Kundeservice Gavekort – en perfekt gave Registrer deg

Ghetto Writing

Traditional and Eastern Jewry in German-Jewish Literature from Heine to Hilsenrath

«A scintillating glimpse of a literary treasure trove.' CANADIAN JEWISH NEWS 'Should be of much use to those who study or teach German-Jewish literary and cultural relations.' GERMAN QUARTERLY ' The publication is of interest as in introduction into the material not only for the Germanist but also for the layperson.' ASCHKENAS 'The great breadth of this collection of essays makes it especially valuable.' GERMANISTIK 'This volume is bound to be of great interest to anyone interested in the works that chronicle the journey of the Yiddish speakers of Central and Eastern Europe from medieval ghettos to the attempted assimilation into the German cultural world.»

SHOFAR

Fresh articles about a much neglected genre, fiction from and about the Jewish ghetto.

Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries ghetto fiction played an important part in the expression of a particularly German-Jewish quest for identity. Les mer

1632,-
Innbundet
Sendes innen 21 dager
Fresh articles about a much neglected genre, fiction from and about the Jewish ghetto.

Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries ghetto fiction played an important part in the expression of a particularly German-Jewish quest for identity. The volume Ghetto Writing takes the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the publication of Leopold Kompert's collection of ghetto stories Aus dem Ghetto (1848) to fill a gap and give testimony to an important genre that has been unduly silenced in the literary histories of the post-war period. The volume presents some 15 articles by scholars from Scandinavia, Germany, Great Britain, and Ireland whose contributions offer new analyses of ghetto writing by well known authors such as Heinrich Heine and Joseph Roth, andcompletely new material on forgotten ghetto writers who deserve to be rediscovered, such as Alexander Granach. The articles cover various types of ghetto writing, ranging from ghetto fiction in the tradition of Leopold Kompert and Karl Emil Franzos, to diaries, travelogues, autobiography, and even contemporary German HipHop and Rap lyrics.

Detaljer

Forlag
Camden House Inc
Innbinding
Innbundet
Språk
Engelsk
Sider
239
ISBN
9781571130099
Utgivelsesår
1999
Format
58 x 39 cm

Om forfatteren

Anne Fuchs is professor of modern German literature and culture at University College Dublin.

Anmeldelser

«A scintillating glimpse of a literary treasure trove.' CANADIAN JEWISH NEWS 'Should be of much use to those who study or teach German-Jewish literary and cultural relations.' GERMAN QUARTERLY ' The publication is of interest as in introduction into the material not only for the Germanist but also for the layperson.' ASCHKENAS 'The great breadth of this collection of essays makes it especially valuable.' GERMANISTIK 'This volume is bound to be of great interest to anyone interested in the works that chronicle the journey of the Yiddish speakers of Central and Eastern Europe from medieval ghettos to the attempted assimilation into the German cultural world.»

SHOFAR

Kunders vurdering

Oppdag mer

Bøker som ligner på Ghetto Writing:

Se flere

Logg inn

Ikke medlem ennå? Registrer deg her

Glemt medlemsnummer/passord?

Handlekurv